Upcoming webinar: The African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA), Emerging opportunities for trade facilitation

The Global Alliance for Trade Facilitation and the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) will bring together African businesses to examine the potential benefits the implementation of the AfCFTA and trade facilitation measures could have on intra-regional trade, and the potential of the AfCFTA to help African economies mitigate the effects of the Covid-19 crisis.

22 September 2020
11:00 am–12:30 pm (Nigeria) / 10:00–11:30 am (Ghana)
12:00–1:30 pm (CET) / 1:00–2:30 pm (Kenya)

The Covid-19 pandemic will have long-lasting adverse effects on the global economy, hurting developing and least developed countries the most. While it will be difficult for the entire global economy to recover, African countries are particularly vulnerable in the wake of the pandemic.

Against this backdrop, the implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) could offer African countries a lever to mitigate the negative economic effects of the pandemic. The AfCFTA is expected to cover a market of 1.2 billion people and encompass a region with a gross domestic product (GDP) of $2.5 trillion.

With trade facilitation at its core, the AfCFTA has the potential to increase intraregional trade, help African countries diversify their economies, and boost regional economic growth, contributing to Covid-19 recovery. However, its
transformational impact largely depends on its full implementation, and on the ability of policymakers to ensure that the benefits of international trade are spread evenly and reach those who have not yet been able to benefit from cross-border trade.

The Global Alliance for Trade Facilitation, which works to help governments in developing and least developed countries implement the World Trade Organization’s Trade Facilitation Agreement, and ICC, the world business
organisation, will bring together African businesses to examine the potential benefits the implementation of the AfCFTA and trade facilitation measures could have on intra-regional trade, and the potential of the AfCFTA to help African economies mitigate the effects of the Covid-19 crisis.

Register here

 

KEYNOTE SPEAKER
Hubert Danso,
Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, Africa Investor (Ai) Group

OPENING REMARKS
Mattia Wegmann,
Deputy Director Global Alliance for Trade Facilitation, GIZ

PANELLISTS
• Trudi Hartzenberg,
Executive Director, Trade Law Centre for Southern Africa (Moderator)
• Mohamed Samara,
CEO, Meridian Port Services
• Nuamah Eshun Famiyeh,
General Manager Operations/ Marketing, Kinapharma Ltd
• Ayemibo Bamidele,
Lead Consultant, 3T Impex  Trade Academy

Download the invitation